What is Tier 1, Tier 2, Tier 3, and Tier 4 supplier?

A Tier 1 supplier is defined as a company that supplies products or services directly to Amazon.

A Tier 2 supplier supplies products or services to the Tier 1 supplier, who then supplies goods and services directly to Amazon.

A Tier 3 supplier supplies products or services to the Tier 2 supplier.

A Tier 4 supplier supplies products or services to the Tier 3 supplier.

How does Amazon define its supplier diversity and small business initiative?

Supplier Diversity is the intentional inclusion of suppliers owned by an individual or group that is a member of a traditionally underrepresented or marginalized group. As part of Amazon’s Supplier Diversity and Inclusion (SDI) spend, the following types of US-based, certified minority-owned businesses are recognized as part of our program: Women-owned businesses, Small Disadvantaged Businesses (SDBs), Native American-owned businesses, and Black-owned businesses, as well as businesses owned by Hispanic Americans, Asian Americans, LGBTQ+ People, Veterans, Disabled Veterans, and People living with Disabilities.

What are Amazon’s requirements to be considered a diverse supplier in US?

Regardless of size, your company must be located physically in the United States. To qualify as a diverse supplier, the business owner must have U.S. citizenship or legal resident status and the business must be 51% owned, operated, and controlled by Woman, LGBTQ+ Person, Veteran, Disabled Veteran, Person living with Disabilities, or Minority (Asian-Indian, Asian-Pacific, Black, Hispanic, and Native American). To participate in Amazon’s supplier diversity program, your business must be certified as a diverse supplier by one of these certifying organizations.

  • National Minority Supplier Development Council (NMSDC) or a regional affiliate
  • Women’s Business Enterprise National Council (WBENC) (USA) or a regional affiliate
  • National Gay & Lesbian Chamber of Commerce (NGLCC)
  • National Veteran Business Development Council (NVBDC)
  • National Veteran-Owned Business Association (NaVOBA)
  • Disability:IN
  • Small Business Administration (SBA) Hubzone or 8(a) Development Program
  • Department of Transportation Disadvantaged Business Enterprise (DBE)

In addition, your certification must be valid per the criteria given by on of these certifying organizations.

I’m already an Amazon supplier...

How can I update my Amazon US Payee Central profile to show that I am a diverse supplier or small business?

If you have a current third-party certificate such as NMSDC, WEBENC, NVBDC, NaVOBA, NGLCC, Disability: IN, Department of Transportation, or the U.S. Small Business Administration 8(a) Business Development Program, and you are properly registered as an Amazon supplier, upload your document to Amazon Payee Central by following these steps.

  1. Select the Accounts tab on the black bar at the top of each page in Amazon Payee Central.
  2. Enter a one-time password (OTP) for verification purposes. Complete this step by entering the OTP you receive in your email inbox and select Verify.
  3. Scroll to the bottom of the page to the new section, Additional payee information (optional).
  4. Select the country of origin and fill in the questionnaire (country based).
  5. Enter the Certificate Information in the pop-up window. The Certificate file or document will be accepted as a PDF, Word, JPG, or PNG.
  6. Select Submit.

Our Supplier Diversity program anticipates expanding to more countries in the future and more recognized third-party certificates will be accepted as we expand.

In addition to my third-party certification, do I need to give any other information to verify diversity classification?

You only need to upload an image, document, or pdf file of your third-party diversity certificate from a recognized agency.

Who can see my third-party certification information?

Amazon’s Privacy Notice describes how and its affiliates collect and process your personal information.